Marriage License

Important information regarding Marriage Licenses effective 01/01/2009
Name Equality Act of 2007


Marriage Licenses:

Obtaining a Marriage License

Information on two types of marriage licenses is available on this site. Please review carefully the information provided to determine which type of license is best suited to your particular situation.

Marriage Licenses are issued from 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) at the:

County Clerk
675 Texas Street Suite 1900
Fairfield, California 94533
Phone (707) 784-7510

Please allow 15 to 30 minutes to issue a marriage license, however you may have to wait longer if there are other couples ahead of you. We ask that you arrive at the office in plenty of time to complete the paperwork prior to 4:00 p.m.

Requirements for Public Marriage License
  • Complete The Public Marriage License Application.
  • Pay the application fee (schedule of fees).
  • Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Both applicants must be present when the license is issued.
  • Both applicants must possess a valid picture identification, which includes date of birth.
  • Both applicants must include on the application, the full name (including middle and mothers maiden name) of both parents.
  • Both applicants must include the State or Country of birth for both parents
  • If either or both applicants were divorced, or had an annulment that was final within the last 6 months, a copy of the final judgment is required.
Public licenses are effective the day of issue and for 90 days thereafter, they can be used anywhere in the State of California


The State of California does not require a blood test to obtain a marriage license



Requirements for Confidential Marriage License 
  • Complete the Confidential Marriage License Application.
  • Pay the application fee (schedule of fees).
  • Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age. Underage applicants are not allowed to obtain a confidential license.
  • Both applicants must be present when the license is issued.
  • Couple must be living together as spouses at the time they apply for the license
  • Marriage ceremony must be performed in County in which the license is issued (I.E. if you purchase a confidential license in Solano County you ceremony must be performed in Solano County)
  • Both applicants must possess a valid picture identification, which includes date of birth.
  • Both applicants must include on the application, the full name (including middle and mothers maiden name) of both parents.
  • Both applicants must include the State or Country of birth for both parents
  • If either or both applicants were divorced, or had an annulment that was final within the last 6 months, a copy of the final judgment is required.
Confidential licenses are effective the day of issue and for 90 days thereafter, they can be used only in the County in which they are issued.

The State of California does not require a blood test to obtain a marriage license

PLEASE NOTE:
Confidential marriage licenses are held confidential and may not be viewed by the public. The only information, which may be released by the County Clerk upon inquiry, is whether there is a record of marriage; the DATE may not be released without a court order (Section 511 of Family Code). Certified copies of the marriage license can only be obtained in person by either spouse with valid picture I.D. and
Application for Certified Copy or by mail with an Application for Certified Copy with "Certificate of Acknowledgement" section completed by a notary.

Marriage Licenses For Underage Applicants
If either or both applicants are under the age of 18, one or both parents of the minors' will have to give permission and appear before a Superior Court judge before the couple can obtain a marriage license. Please contact our office for further information at (707) 784-7510 between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.